Your membership site can have any number of membership levels and customers can upgrade and downgrade between those membership levels whenever they wish. If a customer chooses to upgrade or downgrade, their new purchase will be prorated based on what they have already paid and how much time is left in their current membership.

Customer's membership details page

Prorated upgrade